Parts of the skull

The human skull consists of two main parts:


The neurocranium encloses the brain (including the cerebral hemispheres and brainstem) and sensory organs connected to the brain. The neurocranium can be further divided into the calvaria and cranial base.

The viscerocranium is the part of the skull situated anteriorly from the neurocranium. It forms the facial skeleton and supports the soft tissue of the face.