Bones of neurocranium

The neurocranium consists of bones that surround and encase the brain. Overall, it is formed by eight bones.

The neurocranium is made up of the following four unpaired bones:

The neurocranium is formed by the following two paired bones:

  • Parietal bone (Read more!) - quadrilateral-shaped bone that contributes to the superior aspect of the skull;
  • Temporal bone (Read more!) - irregularly shaped bone that contributes to the lateral aspect of the skull and houses structures of the vestibulocochlear apparatus.


Note: The temporal bone houses three auditory ossicles - malleus, incus, and stapes.