The epididymis is attached to the posterior border of the testicle; therefore, it is located together with it in the scrotum

Along with the testicle, the epididymis is also covered with tunica albuginea and the five covering layers mentioned in the previous slide.

Sperm travels from the testis to the epididymis for maturation and storage.

The epididymis has three parts:

  • Head of the epididymis - the largest part, pointed upwards;
  • Body - without a visible border, the head switches into the body, which takes up the middle part of the epididymis;
  • Tail - the terminal part of the epididymis, continuous with the ductus deferens.

The lateral wall between the testicle and epididymis contains a recess called the sinus of epididymis.